Getting Kids To Eat Boiled Egg Yolks

Getting Kids To Eat Boiled Egg Yolks

Hey,

For my morning breakfast I typically enjoy boiled eggs with smoked beef or turkey sausages and either toast or waffles. I was addicted for about a week straight of eating boiled eggs whether it was with sides or by itself; it was bomb for some reason.

My 1 year-old is attached to my hip so when I make anything to eat it’s for the both of us. My child would eat the sausages, waffles/toast, and the egg whites. When I would offer him the egg yolks to eat he would chew twice, spit out the dry egg yolks, and then down the contents of his Sippy cup. I wanted my child to reap the benefits of eating the yolks of eggs and so I had to figure out a way to get him to eat them without spitting them out.

♥ According to LiveStrong.com: “Each egg yolk contains seven vitamins….of those, vitamins A, D, E and K are found only in egg yolks and not in egg whites. In fact, egg yolks are one of only a handful of foods in which vitamin D is naturally found.”

Here is how I got my child to eat boiled egg yolks…

I boiled 2 eggs and waited for them to cool before cracking and peeling them. I cut each egg in half, removing the egg yolks and setting them aside for later use. I then cut the egg whites into 4 quarters and sprinkled a bit of salt & pepper to taste.

I decided to turn the dry egg yolks into a spread or dip using ingredients that are typically found in the recipes of Deviled Eggs. I used Ground Paprika, Sweet Relish, and Mayonnaise as my mix-ins to make the egg yolks more appetizing to my little one.

20161203_0816161

In a bowl, I mashed the egg yolks with a fork and then mixed in, one at a time, a small amount of the mayonnaise, relish, and paprika.

Once everything is thoroughly mixed together, I placed the dip/spread in a bowl along with the seasoned egg whites and Bon Appétit!

20161203_0845191

 My child now devours the egg yolks being that they are no longer dry and I don’t even think he realizes it..lol

Thanks For Reading! ♥

2 thoughts on “Getting Kids To Eat Boiled Egg Yolks

Leave a Reply

