Roaches – Creating an Extinct Environment

Roaches – Creating an Extinct Environment

pest-control-cartoon

Hey,

I’ve been dealing with roaches slowly infesting my home for about a few months now and it had me losing my mind. I thought to myself “why are there roaches in my home when all I do is clean around the clock?”. I’ve gotten to the point where I decided to get help from a professional, and so I made an appointment to have an Exterminator come out and exterminate the roaches that were trying to claim my home as their own.

♥ Exterminate: To get rid of completely usually by killing off. »Merriam-Webster Dictionary

To solve any issue you must first learn as much as you can about the problem so you can then come up with the best possible solution. I asked my Exterminator a few questions before she got started because it was my first time receiving this type of service. I wanted to know what I needed to do to prepare the area for service, what results I would expect, how long I should wait before putting things back, how to keep pets and small children safe, and preventative measures to take to maintain a pest free home.

During our conversation I’ve learned so much about roaches that will help me and maybe you in creating an extinct environment free of roaches (or extremely close to it).

Did You Know….

  • YOU DON’T HAVE TO BE DIRTY OR LIVE IN FILTH TO HAVE ROACHES!
  • Roaches are attracted to water that’s why you tend to find them in the kitchen and bathrooms.
  • Roaches are drawn to electrical currents that travel through the cable wires that may be anchored to walls during a cable installation. The same goes for microwaves, electrical outlets, light fixtures, and other electrical appliances.
  • The poop that is left behind by the roaches (brownish colored speckles) contain pheromones and if not cleaned away, they can find their way back to that particular location.

♥ Pheromones: a chemical substance that is usually produced by an animal and serves especially as a stimulus to other individuals of the same species for one or more behavioral responses. »Merriam-Webster Dictionary

  • If the remains of  dead roaches aren’t cleaned away, the roaches that are still alive will eat them for protein. (eww right? lml)

♥ Tips:

  1. After vacuuming/sweeping away the dead roaches, wipe down surfaces with a mixture of bleach and water killing not only germs but the pheromones that are left behind in the poop.
  2. Make a follow-up appointment for another extermination a week later to kill off any remaining roaches that may have not been exposed to the previous dose of pesticide.
  3. Control the reoccurrence of roaches with store-bought pesticides such as Raid Max® which can keep killing for up to 6 months.
  4. Remember to clean away roach poop and roach remains as soon as you notice them to prevent them from coming back. Popular areas from my personal experience are door frames & hinges, medicine cabinets, light fixtures, and carbon dioxide/smoke detectors.

With this new-found knowledge of roaches, I and even you can now take the necessary steps to properly clean and maintain a home that will one day be free from roaches (or extremely close to it..lol).

Featured Image Credit: http://www.rolledin2onemom.com

Thanks For Reading! ♥

Leave a Reply

